Tags

mobile-mdot

It’s the second day of the new year (oops missed getting this done today).  I am not a fan of New Year’s resolutions for a number of reasons.  They are arbitrary (why not start a resolution on Dec. 15th?  What’s so special about Jan. 1?) and they usually don’t amount to much.  When people fall off the apple cart (which they are likely to do) they will say, “Oh well I couldn’t keep it up,” and drop it right there.

A resolution can start any day and missing a day doesn’t change anything.  I have a few resolutions as this year begins.  One of them has to do with a Bible Reading plan I discovered on my phone. It’s called the Essential 100.  You can read more about it here.  It is built around 100 carefully selected Bible passages – 50 from the Old Testament and 50 from the New Testament that helps you get the big picture of God’s Word and in the process develop a daily Bible reading habit.

I have already found it to be an easily managed new habit ( I started it last week) A printout version (for those without smart phones is available here.  You can also work on the plan just by going to the website to read each day.  Just 15 minutes or so each evening.  I am due to complete it in April and maybe then I will tackle the big Kahuna; reading the whole Bible in a year.

Health wise,  I need to get into better shape this year but I am not sure how I will tackle that one.  I need to get some measurable goals and timelines.  Let’s get that done this week.

Lastly, I want to work on writing more consistently.  I wrote more than 60 posts last year, almost 8000 page views and i would like to do more.  My goal this year is 200 posts (not quite 4 a week).  I hope you will come back and read them.

