Tags

, , , ,

julie portrait3BW[From Julie] My husband is a morning person.  He likes to get up before anyone else and have a few quiet moments to himself.  This is starting to get a little easier now that the kids are older and seem to be losing their ‘daddy radar’.  It used to be that Noel would just get himself settled with a cup of coffee and one of our boys would spring to alert an hour earlier than usual and require some snuggles with dad.  While Noel loved the snuggles he was always frustrated that he couldn’t get his alone time to read and pray.  The odd time he would manage to be successful and he would get an hour to himself.

Noel developed a practice of writing down what was on his mind and what he was praying about just as a help to stay focused.  It’s also interesting to look back and see how blessed we’ve been and how God has worked these prayers out.  He would occasionally leave his Bible and prayer journal on the table when he was done and he told me I could read it if I wanted to.  At first I felt like this was something private and I didn’t want to interfere so I would just gather Noel’s things up and put them in the office.  Sometimes he would leave his journal open and I would read about what he was struggling with at that particular time.  I got to know my husband on a whole new level.  Things that he would seem to be so confident about when we discussed them were poured out to God and he would be asking for guidance.  I remember when I was coming to the end of my pregnancy with Liam and Daniel, I was getting pretty uncomfortable and the carpal tunnel was pretty bad.  I never realized how hard it was on Noel until I read that old spiral bound note book and saw how anxious he was that the babies and I would be okay.  Noel just always seemed to have way more confidence in my ability to ‘do’ twins than I ever did.  It never occurred to me that he was actually worried about my health until I read his prayer to keep me safe.

When I read how often the boys and I come up in Noel’s prayers I am brought closer to his heart.  It’s a wonderful feeling to know that another person is praying for you but it is a bonding experience to know that your spouse is lifting you up to the Lord of the universe and giving thanks for you, praying for protection for you and desiring guidance for your life.  Noel takes his role as the spiritual head of our house very seriously.  He prays for wisdom for both of us as parents.  He prays for help in being the husband and minister God wants him to be. He prays for guidance as we make decisions and he is constantly thankful for the blessings that have been poured out over us.  Yes, he still struggles and needs to ask for forgiveness and that’s in his journal too.  To me that makes him all the more real and vulnerable.

When I know Noel is praying for me and our family I feel safe in his protection.  I don’t have as much difficulty in letting him lead our family because he is constantly seeking God’s direction.  He touches my heart when he prays for me in a way I never expected.  It’s just one of the blessings of prayer.  Try it yourself and share your prayers with your spouse.  You may find some marital rejuvenation that you never expected and I know you will be drawing closer to the Master.

JW

