Tags

, ,

julie portrait3BW[From Julie] At the end of last summer we took our boys up to my childhood family home about 8 hours north.  We had a great time and I’m so glad we got to go for one last visit to the farm before my Dad and second Mom sold it to a very special new family. When I think of home I always think of the farm.  The home that has been in my family for at least three generations.  It was a wonderful place to grow up.

During my turn driving Noel was either working on his computer or taking the opportunity to sleep and the boys were watching movies.  I had brought along my IPod so I would have something to listen to if no one felt like talking.  Good decision.  One of the albums I was listening to was “Come to the Well” by Casting Crowns.  It’s one of my favorites.  One song in particular spoke to me during this trip north.  It’s called Spirit Wind.  The lyrics pretty much speak for themselves.  The song was written by one of the band members and he dedicated it to the pastor he worked with while he was a young youth minister.  This pastor prayed passionately for God to breath new life into the souls of his congregation and make them a mighty army once again.  Since then this specific congregation has had a renewing and they have sent many of their members out into the U.S. as pastors to other congregations.  Those members were teenagers at the time when their pastor prayed over them.  God is faithful and He will breathe life into any who will accept Him.

TheValleyOfTheDryBones_02

This has always been my prayer for my boys but as I was listening to the song this time I was impressed with the need to pray this for the marriages that our little blog reaches.  It’s a big prayer but an important life-altering prayer.  I pray that God breathes life into our marriages.  That His Spirit dwells in our hearts and creates mighty men and women of God.  I pray that our marriages will have a renewing and be a powerful reflection of the hand of God.  Marriages that will transform before us and make all of us give thanks to our Father for His grace in our lives.  A transformation like the one Ezekiel witness when he watched God create an army from dry bones.  The kind of marriage that will put you on your knees because you will know where the beauty of your marriage came from.  That’s what I pray for all of you.  Not just some satisfactory life together but a marriage that can only be explained by the abiding presence of God.

Spirit Wind

Ezekiel stared down into the valley
Filled with dry bones baking in the sun
Remains that used to be a mighty army
To him, it looked like their fighting days were done

But driven by a calling on his life
He spoke God’s words, the bones began to shake
He stared wide-eyed as the flesh began to form
And as he prophesied to the wind
The soldiers began to wake

And the Lord sent His wind into the valley
And breathed the breath of life into their souls
And raised them again a mighty army
For soon these arisen warriors will battle again
For they have been filled with the Spirit Wind

A pastor stands before his congregation
Once a mighty army for the Lord
But now he stares into the lifeless eyes
Believers leading carnal lives
He wonders what they’re fighting for
But driven by a calling on his life
He spoke God’s word like he’d done a hundred times before
But this time he comes broken and weeping
With tears of a broken heart

And he cries out to the Lord
Oh Lord, send Your wind into this valley
And breathe the breath of life into their souls
And raise them again a mighty army
For soon these arisen warriors will battle again
For they have been filled with the Spirit Wind

Holy Spirit, breathe on me
Breathe Your life in me

Oh Lord, send Your wind into this valley
And breathe the breath of life into our souls
And raise us again a mighty army
For soon these arisen warriors will battle again
For we have been filled with the Spirit Wind

Oh Lord, we need You now
Breathe Your life into us
Lord, we need You now
Our churches and our families
Oh Lord, we need You now
Breathe life into this dry and weary land
Raise us up again

I hope you enjoy the song and consider yourself prayed for.

