Tags

, , , ,

AUT_0023

The title says it all.  Noel is crazy, but a good kind of crazy.  He can get more done in one day then most people can in a full week.  This fall he is heading into his last two classes to finish his Masters of Divinity.  It’s been a long haul getting here.  Six years of part time study while being a full time minister and full time dad.  I don’t know how he has done it but here we are with the end in sight.  So close we can almost taste it.  I feel exhausted and I’m not the one doing the work.

You would think that there would be a big sigh of relief at the thought of a graduate school free existence but alas, no.  My husband has decide that now is the time to start  his doctorate of ministry.  Well of course, why wouldn’t this be a most excellent time.  So Lord willing, Noel will be starting his doctoral studies in June 2014.  He loves school.  I love being educated, not the process of getting educated.

When he said he wanted to start his doctoral work right away, I must admit that I wasn’t very excited.  I was really looking forward to having school off the plate for awhile.  You see, he is the one getting the degree but I feel like there should be some kind of honorary degree presented to the spouses of those getting their masters/doctorates.  It’s a lot of stress, time, money – and holy cow – the proof reading!  I’ve watched Noel pour hours into his studies and spend hours at the computer writing papers.  Not to mention the year of the thesis, that was intense.  That thesis is awesome man!  I read it more than once.  I continue to be amazed at how smart Noel is and how good he is at presenting ideas.  He has so much crammed into his brain I’m surprised it’s not spurting out his ears and he remembers it.  I don’t know how this is possible.

So, two choices are before me.  Get supportive or start trying to talk him out of this crazy doctoral studies plan.  I have to admit I tried the second choice.  We have four kids that we need to educate and I thought Noel should take a pause with his education while we focus on the boys.  That would mean no more school for Noel for approx 10 years.  That’s a long time and he is in the school groove now.  I wanted to hear the reasons why he wanted a doctorate in the first place.  I’m not interested in just having more letters after his name.  That’s not high value unless it’s helpful in service to others.  He assured me that it would be helpful and it would present more opportunities in the future.  After much discussion and deep sighing on my part I had to agree with Noel that now is as good a time as any.  At this point I’m embracing the first choice, get supportive.  I don’t know how we are going to do this but we’ll get it done.  By the time our first born is in university we’ll have a doctor in the house but please, please let that be the end.

p.s. He’s still crazy. 🙂

